Blue Star Club

Blue Star Club is the official alumni boat club of Newcastle University.

Although it has existed for some time informally, the club was first formally structured in 2011 and held its first Committee elections in 2014.

Blue Star Club offers alumni a flag of convenience to row together, and a lasting connection to the NUBC community. Furthermore, it offers alumni active in the Newcastle area the opportunity to use NUBC facilities to row on the River Tyne.

Blue Star Club crews race regularly and have competed at Rutherford Head, Henley Town and Visitors (where the Club has won alumni 8s for three consecutive years), Henley Royal Regatta, the British Senior Rowing Championships and Trinity Regatta in Ireland.

Blue Star Club also aims to help fundraise and support NUBC in its current activities. It has organised a Blue Star Fund, separate to its club activities, with the charitable aim of advancing education by supporting NUBC and rowing at Newcastle University. The Club is seeking to move the Fund (founded in 2014) on to a more formal basis as a separate Foundation.

The Club is governed according to its Constitution and is managed by its Committee. The current Committee, elected at the 2018 AGM, is:

  • President – Fred Gill
  • Vice President – Minna Jones-Walters
  • Treasurer – Will Reid
  • Secretary – Charles Barry
  • Women's Captain - Charlotte Hill
  • Men's Captain - Stephen Feeney

For more information about Blue Star Club, please contact Charles Barry, Club Secretary on the email address: